Home Banking & Finance Newtown Savings Bank announces succession plan

Newtown Savings Bank announces succession plan

After completing year-long succession planning efforts, the Newtown Savings Bank Board of Directors has announced that, effective Jan. 1, 2018, Kenneth L. Weinstein will succeed John F. Trentacosta as president and CEO. Trentacosta had previously announced his planned retirement, after 19 years with the bank, effective Dec. 31.

Senior Vice President and Chief Lending Officer Anthony F. Giobbi will assume the new role of chief banking officer, also effective Jan. 1. Both Weinstein and Giobbi will immediately receive the corporate titles of executive vice president until they assume their new roles in January.

The board also announced that effective in January 2018, Trentacosta will succeed John J. Martocci as chairman of the board of directors, with Martocci remaining on the board.

Weinstein joined Newtown Savings in November 2011, and assumed the role of senior vice president of retail banking in May 2013. Giobbi joined the bank in March 2014 as senior vice president of commercial lending, rising to chief lending officer in July 2015.

Headquartered in Newtown, the community bank has more than $1 billion in assets and maintains 14 branches in Newtown, Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, Monroe, Oxford, Shelton, Southbury, Trumbull and Woodbury, as well as the New Haven Regional Lending Center in Hamden.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here