Home Government Westchester declared disaster area

Westchester declared disaster area

President Obama declared Westchester an official disaster area today, making Westchester eligible for federal aid in the wake of Tropical Storm Sandy.
To qualify, individuals who have unreimbursed losses must first register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
Individuals should do so in one of the following ways:
  • DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Apply via smart phone at m.fema.gov
  • Call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.
“This is important information for all of those in our county who have been devastated by Sandy,” said Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino. “We will continue to share information as we get it. In  the meantime I urge people to register with FEMA.”
Rockland County was also declared a disaster area this morning.
Further information will be posted at westchestergov.com as it becomes available.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here